FAQs

Partner Share

What if I accidentally share a private image with my partner?


During the organization process, you have the ability to "Undo" your last action. You can also change an image's settings (tag share, partner share, tags, caption, and date) by selecting it from your library (memories), and tapping edit.




Can I disable partner share?


You can disable partner share by contacting Backstory's support team. Images that you already shared with your partner cannot be removed from their account.




Will I be alerted when my partner has shared new images?


Not yet! But the plan is to send an alert on your phone and/or an email. You can change these notification settings at anytime.




Can I use Tag Share with images from my partner?


Yes! You can tag images from your partner with your own tags, that can then be shared with the relevant tag groups.




How long does it take for partner images to appear in my Backstory?


Partner Share images, that they saved to their Backstory, appear in your library almost immediately. If you don't see them, pull down, or pull up your library to reload them. Keep in mind that the size of the images, the amount of images and your network connection will all affect how long it takes.




Does my partner see images tagged with a private tag?


It depends! Your partner will see images where Partner Share is enabled/checked; however, private tags are not visible to your partner. In other words, they'll see the image, just not the tag. If you don't want your partner to see an image, disable/uncheck Partner Share.




What does "allow partner to use the tag" mean?


When you share a tag with your partner they can tag their images with that tag. If you've set that tag to be shared with certain people, then images your partner tags with that same tag, will also be shared with them. When you choose not to let your partner use a tag, they cannot see or use that tag. However, if you don't disable Partner Share for an image, they will still see the image. In other words, they'll see the image, just not the private tag.





Organizing

While I'm organizing images, what happens to the original videos and photos?


When you skip or save an image, the original files are not touched. They remain in your phone's default photo app. Saved images are uploaded to your Backstory, while skipped images never leave your device. If you want to delete skipped images from your device, see the FAQ "How to I delete Skipped Images."




How do I delete Skipped Images from my phone? (iOS/Apple)


We don't delete skipped images. Instead, we create a folder in Apple Photos called "Backstory - Skipped." You can quickly see all images you've skipped in that album. You can then delete all images in that album. Here's how:

  1. Open the Apple Photos app.
  2. At the bottom of the screen tap "Albums" and navigate to the album: "Backstory - Skipped"
  3. At the top of the screen "Select" then "Select All". A checkmark will appear on every image.
  4. At the bottom of the screen tap the trash icon.
  5. A popup will appear asking if you want to "Delete from Album" or "Delete". Choose "Delete".
  6. If you use iCloud Photos, a popup will then notify you that the photo will be deleted from all iCloud Photos on all devices. Tap "Delete Photo"
  7. Your phone's storage won't immediately free up because deleted images on Apple Photos are not immediately deleted. They're placed in Apple Photos trash for 30 days.
  8. You'll need to empty that trash to free up space on your phone.
  9. To empty the trash in the Apple Photos app, tap "Albums" at the bottom of the screen.
  10. Scroll down to the bottom and tap "Recently Deleted". It will have a trash can icon.
  11. Repeat steps 4 and 5 above.
  12. Another popup will appear notifying you that the photo will be deleted and this action cannot be undone. Choose "Delete Photo" and the space on your phone frees up.
When you delete a photo from Apple Photos, it does not affect your saved images on Backstory. Those saved images will remain in your Backstory account.




If I delete an image from the Apple Photos app, does that remove it from Backstory?


When you delete photos or videos from the Apple Photos app, it does not affect your Saved Images in Backstory. However, it will delete any Skipped Images. Skipped Images are not saved to your Backstory account, so when they're deleted from your phone, we can't display them to you.





Tag Sharing

Do friends and family need their own Backstory accounts to view shared images?


We designed Backstory so friends and family can view shared images without installing yet another app. Obviously, we would love they install Backstory, but we're not forcing it. Shared images can be viewed on any browser (Chrome, Safari, Edge, Firefox, Internet Explorer, etc.); however, any viewer needs an account with an email/password.




Can my family share a tag? Can they add images to a tag you created?


Currently, only you and your partner can share a tag. The good news is we've built Backstory to support multiple family members, but we are not releasing that feature yet. We have a lot on our plate!